Pictures of E Hodgkins holiday in Ramsgate 1928     |        thanetonline blog   More pictures   Even more pictures

Thanet Council's new Cabinet, Shadow Cabinet and Committee Chairmen for the forthcoming year have been formally announced.

Last night's (Thursday 21 May) Annual Council meeting saw Cllr. Sandy Ezekiel re-elected as the Leader of the Council for the seventh year. Cllr. Roger Latchford was re-elected as the Deputy Leader for the third year. The Leader of the Opposition is Cllr. Clive Hart and the Deputy Leader of the Opposition is Cllr. Peter Campbell.

The Cabinet and Shadow Cabinet details for the Council year 2009/10 are:

Cabinet Member
Shadow Cabinet Member
Regeneration and Economic Development (includes the Margate Renewal Partnership, asset management, strategic planning and the Port of Ramsgate
Cllr. Roger Latchford
Cllr. Peter Campbell
Finance (also includes human resources, policy and performance, procurement and audit)
Cllr. Martin Wise
Cllr. David Green
Customer Services (includes IT services , revenues and benefits)
Cllr. Simon Moores
Cllr. Linda Aldred
Community Services (includes council housing, strategic housing, housing need and homelessness, housing renewal, private sector housing, community safety and environmental health)
Cllr. Zita Wiltshire
Cllr. Iris Johnston
Environmental Services (includes waste collection, recycling, street cleaning, public toilets, parking, parks, allotments, cemeteries and crematorium, sports development, Sport 4NRG, arts development, museums, foreshores, Thanet Coast Project, indoor and outdoor leisure, play services, tourism, events and Environmental Action Programme)
Cllr. Shirley Tomlinson
Cllr. Michelle Fenner
Regulatory Services and Ramsgate Marina (includes planning enforcement and applications, licensing, land charges and general estate management)
Cllr. John Kirby
Cllr. John Watkins

The Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the Council's Committees and Boards for 2009/10 were also appointed at the Annual Council meeting:

Planning Committee Chairman     Cllr. Ken Gregory
Planning Committee Vice-Chairman     Cllr. Simon Day
Scrutiny Chairman      Cllr. Bob Bayford
Scrutiny Vice-Chairman      Cllr. Mike Harrison  
Licensing Board Chairman     Cllr. Mick Tomlinson  
Licensing Board Vice-Chairman     Cllr. Ted Watt-Ruffell
Governance and Audit Committee Chairman           Cllr. Jo Gideon
Governance and Audit Committee Vice-Chairman           Cllr. Jason Savage  
Joint Transportation Board Chairman           Cllr. Brian Sullivan